West Bengal, Assam Elections: Key Stats On Section 1 Of Meeting Polls

West Bengal, Assam Elections: Key Stats On Phase 1 Of Assembly Polls

Section 1 will resolve electoral destiny of 191 candidates, together with 21 ladies candidates (File)

New Delhi:

As West Bengal and Assam go to polls for the primary part of Meeting elections that start immediately, here is a take a look at some vital statistics:

In West Bengal, 30 seats are going to polls within the first part, which incorporates all constituencies in Purulia and Jhargram and segments of Bankura, Purba Medinipur and Paschim Medinipur.

The primary part of polling will resolve the electoral destiny of 191 candidates, together with 21 ladies candidates.

Within the first part, the whole variety of common electorates is 73,80,942 during which there are 37,52,938 male voters, 36,27,949 feminine voters and 55 of the third gender. The entire variety of service electors are 11,767.

As many as 1,23,393 electors are aged 80 years and above. Additional, 40,408 electors are of “Individuals with Disabilities” (PwD) class. The listing additionally consists of three abroad electors.

The Election Fee has decided 10,288 polling stations, during which 8,229 are predominant and a couple of,059 as auxiliary.

The Fee has appointed 21 common observers, 9 expenditure observers and 7 police observers.

For the primary part, 730 coys of central forces together with 92 for Bankura, 169 for Purba Medinipur, 139 for Paschim Medinipur, 186 for Purulia and 144 for Jhargram have been deployed.

Additional, there are 10,288 Management Items, 10,288 Poll Items and 10,288 VVPAT. The fee has additionally made preparations for two,560 reserved Management Items, 2,787 reserved Poll Items and three,492 reserved VVPAT.

In Assam, 47 constituencies throughout 12 districts are going to polls within the first of the 2 phased ballot for a complete of 126 member Assam Meeting.

A complete of 264 candidates are within the fray from 47 seats – 42 seats from 11 districts of Higher Assam and northern Assam area and 5 seats from central Assam’s Nagaon district going to polls within the first part.

The primary part ballot consists of incumbent Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal Majuli constituency.

Among the many different key constituencies in focus in Assam is Jorhat during which Meeting Speaker Hitendra Nath Goswami is in ballot battle from Jorhat.

The destiny of Assam Gana Parishad’s (AGP) Atul Bora can be at stake. The AGP is in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Occasion whereas senior Congress chief Ripun Bora is attempting his luck from the Gohpur seat.

Lurinjyoti Gogoi, president of newly-floated regional political occasion Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) will contest from two seats – Duliajan and Naharkatia which is able to go to polls within the first part.

The destiny of jailed anti-CAA activist and chief of one other newly-floated occasion Akhil Gogoi from Sibsagar might be determined within the first part.

Mr Gogoi, a peasant chief, is in jail since December 2019 in reference to a Nationwide Investigation Company (NIA) case for his position within the anti-CAA protests in Assam. He was arrested beneath the Illegal Actions (Prevention) Act (UAPA).

A complete of 375 firms of safety personnel together with each central and state armed police forces have been deployed within the state.

Of the whole 375 models, 300 might be energetic throughout the first part. These firms embody the Central Armed Police Drive (CRPF), State Armed Police (SAP) of different states and Assam.

(Aside from the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV workers and is revealed from a syndicated feed.)

0/5 (0 Reviews)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *